Home > Thoughts & such > The vegan vs meat-eating fights

The vegan vs meat-eating fights

I think I was rude to a vegetarian yesterday.

I was out with some folks who were vegetarians, so to be polite I became vegetarian for that meal, eventhough my inner caveman said Me want chicken now. Unfortunately, me and my big mouth, I just forgot to shut up about it. (This is what happens when you don’t know what to say to a bunch of people you have little in common with.) And my vegetarian clients in the end ended up apologising for making me feel awkward. And boy did I feel awkward!

What and how you eat is such a personal thing, but somehow when eating in the midst of vegetarians I feel like such an asshole. Here I am, a compassion-deficient meat eater and by de facto, killer of animals.

I tried to be vegan a few times a week in the past, but now I have to admit that I just simply don’t thrive on a vegan diet. I will feel weak, listless and tired after a vegan day. In fact, I noticed that I often tend to feel lethargic after eating tofu-heavy meals! However, on days where I eat like a caveman — lots of fish, meat, fruits and vegetables — I feel energetic and happy. I have come to accept that this is the way I should eat, eventhough I am attracted to the vegetarian lifestyle. Who wants to be indirectly responsible for animal cruelty?

There are many ardent fights online in blogs about why you should be vegan and why you should go paleo, but I’m annoyingly centrist about it all. How should you eat? Here’s my answer: Adopt the diet that suits your body.

Some people, like Natala at Vegan Hope just thrives on a vegan diet. Perhaps that’s because biochemically, her body is more suited to a vegan diet. I have a friend who is a happy omnivore. The lucky gal can eat grains without gaining a pound, but if she eats too much meat, especially red meat, she literally ‘overheats’ inside. I found the diversity in our biochemistry simply fascinating.

Irecently realised that meat is essential to my diet. I’ve always kidded around with vegetarian friends that I just can’t give up meat (actually, I can give up red meat and chicken, but you’ll have torture me to give up fish) but the truth was I know that if I give up meat I’ll simply get sick. I’ve tried it numerous times, and have stopped fighting my body. Now I eat according to Paleo Diet rules, and I love how wonderful it makes me feel.

So, when you find yourself in the middle of one of those diet debates in blogs, just excuse yourself from them because it’s not going to lead anywhere. I repeat: There’s no one diet for everyone; people just need to find out what works for them, that’s all! So, why waste your time wallowing in those fights? Spend that time figuring out what diet suits you instead.

Categories: Thoughts & such
  1. August 26, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Great post & I totally agree! I’ve been working my way through an elimination diet and think i’ve finally wound up figuring out that a Paleo diet is going to work best for me & my body. When I eat vegan (I don’t eat dairy, etc..) like you I feel weak & lethargic. I like meat & feel much better with it in my diet, rather than out! Gotta do what works for you!

  2. September 16, 2011 at 5:58 am

    I can totally relate to you with this post! I feel like I experienced the same dilemma trying to go vegan! I was vegan for a total of three days and literally felt drained at the end of the afternoon. I was a vegetarian for a total of four months and noticed a big change in my body. I am European and grew up eating a diet with a lot of meat so depriving my body of those nutrients made me feel weak, lifeless and my hair literally started to thin. I completely agree with you that you have to listen to your body and what it needs. Veganism and vegetarianism is not right for everyone but works for many, like you said. “A diet based on minimally processed whole plant foods will give your body all the iron it needs for good health. And an additional benefit plant sources of iron have over meat is that they offer thousands of other nutritional goodies, such as fibre and phytochemicals that help protect against disease, including some cancers.” http://health.ninemsn.com.au/dietandnutrition/nutrition/693953/do-you-need-to-eat-meat-to-get-enough-iron

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

