Home > Thoughts & such > What I’ve been doing while I was away

What I’ve been doing while I was away

Well, have I been away from this blog. For one year, at that.

If you look at the stats bar on the right, you’d notice that as of July 2010, my weight is 74kg, about 11kg lower than my last weigh in.

I wish I could say that I spent the entire year eating and exercising well and that’s how I got here.

Nope. Actually, my weight stalled for some time and I grew frustrated and went back to my old ways. I ate a bucket of ice-cream in days, indulged in pastries, sometimes eating about three to five rolls at a time!

Well, I could go on but let’s just say that I went a wee psycho. Frustration can do that to you, I guess. You think that since your best efforts produced zilch results, why bother?

My weight soared – I reganed all the weight I lost. And my insulin resistance was back in full force. Things became so bad that I would literally crash in the middle of the day. I became so tired that I had to drive back in the middle of a work day to sleep. I woke up every day tired and exhausted. I hated living like this.

So, desperate, I visited a doctor to get some diet advice. His treatment was unorthodox, but his diet was very much like the insulin resistance diet.

I discovered, through the whole diet he put me through, that I was never really strict enough with myself. I ate food in restaurants every day. And outside food is filled with things that can make you fat – oil, sugar, MSG. Also, I ate way too much at night. I ate without thinking.

Through the diet, I learned to cook. Oh yes, I started cooking all my meals myself. The weight came off quicker than I thought, which proved to me how effective the insulin resistance diet is for me, though I need to be ever more stricter than the book suggested.

So here I am, maintaining quite well because I make sure that I cook most of my meals. My aim is to lose 5 more kg until December. Wish me luck!

Categories: Thoughts & such
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

