Home > Thoughts & such > Do you need an exercise machine at home?

Do you need an exercise machine at home?

Exercise machineIn my parents’ home, the study room is a graveyard for fitness equipment. A threadmill now serves as a clothes hanger than a place to sweat it out. A rowing machine lies folded in one corner, dusty from years of unuse. A mini stepper is used to hold books.

Things are quite different in my apartment. Although I do use my stationery bike to hang clothes too, I use the bike at least twice a week. If I do not bunk over at my parents’ home a few days a week, I’d probably use it every day. I love that dear old machine, and often huff and puff away on the bike while catching up on my favourite movies and shows. To me, the stationery bike is a great investment.

According to a New York Times article, a 2008 Consumer Reports said that “nearly 40% percent of those who buy home exercise machines say they use them less than they expected.”

Before you spend hundreds or even thousands of ringgit for an exercising machine, answer these questions first:

1. Do you have a place to keep it?
No point buying that RM5000 epiliptical trainer if wifey kicks a fit when you place it right smack in the middle of the hall.

2. Are you a lone exerciser?
Not everyone is a solitary exerciser. Some people prefer a group environment such as an aerobics class. If you find chugging on a threadmill in your hall the most boring thing on Earth, perhaps you can use your RM5k on a gym membership instead.

3. If you have it, are you going to commit to using at least 3 times a week?
A very logical question but one that is not asked often enough. To know for sure, you got to ask yourself: How badly do you want to lose weight/keep fit? If you really, really want it, go for it.

4. Will you get bored on the machine?
Knowing what kind of exerciser you are is so important. If you prefer to exercise in the great outdoors more often than inside, then maybe you should reconsider. But if its the boredom of staring into space as you whip your body into shape that’s stopping you, consider putting on the radio or watching TV while you exercise.

5. Can you afford it?
Personally, I wouldn’t recommend the chakai RM200-300 machines you can find in hypermarkets. They break down easily and often do not have enough difficulty levels to challenge you in the long run (this is from personal experience with my parents’ hypermarket exercise machine purchases!). So, you may “outgrow” the machine as you get fitter.

Invest in a decent machine. Yes, they certainly can be expensive, but they will pay off in the long run. Wait around for sales – I bought mine nearly 50% off at RM1k. It has a digital reader with calorie counter, clock and mph readings.

PS: I’m 83kg today. I couldn’t believe my eyes! Crossing fingers and hope to be 82kg by end of February. The last time I was 83kg, it was 2007!

  1. February 4, 2009 at 10:21 am

    True, it only works if you use it!!

    I did use my nordic track a lot when I first got it YEARS ago. But then, the novelty wore off and it became a hamper.

  2. February 4, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Oh, I remember those Nordic Tracks … I would literally die on them ;P I vary my workouts so that I don’t get too bored with stationery cycling. The bike is a nice emergency option when I can’t or won’t go the gym.

  3. razaleighhamzah
    February 7, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Thank you for your comments. Just keep writing and pushing for change. Your blog is very well done. I use the treadmill at home every morning!

  4. February 7, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Whoa. Tengku Razeleigh just commented on my blog. HOW SURREAL IS THAT?? 😀

  5. February 7, 2009 at 9:06 am

    PS: You’re about the only UMNO guy I’ll vote for. Fight for the rakyat, Tengku, and you’ll win their hearts!

  6. February 18, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    It actually interestingly. Good job! I wish successes!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

