Home > Thoughts & such > How Poppi did it

How Poppi did it

poppi.jpgPoppi is a contestant at NBC’s reality show, The Biggest Loser, and she won the jackpot when she managed to shrink from a size 22 to a size 2 in eight months!!

She writes about her formula to success in her myspace blog. What floored me was her cardio routine:

2 hours a day of intense/moderate cardio .5 hours a day of circuit.

What, seven hours a day of working out? I’m sorry, but I gotta work! It’s all I can do to manage 1 hour a day. Man… no wonder she shrank so fast!

But she says:

If you can only start with 20 min a day, so be it. Just make sure to go tomorrow. And the next day. And the day after that.

If you fall off the wagon, don’t kill yourself. Just go back to the gym. It will be ok. I promise.

I have to say that when I fall off the wagon, I go all the way. I stuff my face as if there’s no tomorrow. I think returning to the gym is futile for some strange reason. So here I am again, going back to the gym after almost a month of not going.

What discourages me about Poppi’s diet is all that whey protein. I hate that stuff. (And they’re so expensive!) And I’m also paranoid about weight training; I’m afraid I’ll gain weight thanks to the muscle, and I know it’s better that I weight train, but the fear of not seeing my weight budge is overwhelming.

My plan was to go below 80kg then start weight training. I know it’s not logical, but I’m kinda afraid of the psychological impact of not seeing progress.

There’s a nice recap of the finale here.

Categories: Thoughts & such
  1. January 13, 2007 at 4:57 am

    Are you sure it didn’t say .5 of circuit, as in half an hour? That’s how I read it anyway…

  2. January 20, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    About the weight training – women aren’t built to bulk. It is really really hard to gain muscle, and really easy to lose it – especially while on a low calorie diet. I am still fighting to get back some of the normal, everyday muscle I had as a heavier woman that I lost during the first months of dieting.

    The psychological impact of weight training is all validation. It can be frustrating to do cardio and not see endurance increase and to diet without the pounds showing a dramatic difference. But with weight training, the increases in strength are trackable and noticeable. Going slowly is actually better than going fast. Muscle is denser than fat, so it takes up less room on your body. And it is more metabolically active than fat, so it actually burns calories while fat just sits there.

    I am excited you are going back to the gym. Good luck to you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

