Home > Thoughts & such > Getting to the gym – that’s the trick

Getting to the gym – that’s the trick

I have a big, fat, expensive gym membership that I hardly use. I really regret joining that gym. Sure, it’s big, flashy and cool and walking distance from my parents’ home, but does that do me any good?

Problem is, by the time I get home from work it’s about 10pm and I’m tired as hell. And I can’t go to the gym in the morning either because

a) I know you can wake up at 6am to go to the gym, but I think that’s inhuman
b) I have a shitload of chores to do before I walk to the gym like walking the dog, giving him food etc etc etc
c) Preparing for work isn’t easy for me for some reason.

For a time I tried doing the morning gym routine but found myself hurrying frantically through the gym routine with the mantra: gotta be in time for work gotta be in time for work

As a result, I rushed through warm up and the stretching bits and ended up with a lot of injuries.

And yeah, boy, do I get injured easily.

So, I decided to do the simplest thing: Join the office gym.

Which you’re probably going: What the hell, you have an office gym? What the hell are you doing in an expensive gym?

Well, I kinda like the flashy building.

I’m not kidding.

I know, stupid reason.

The clever gym, however, has bonded me for two years, so I’m a slave to that establishment until July 2008. Now, all I can say is that I have to make the best of it somehow. (sheepish grin)

I’m going to start the year slow and easy – workouts three times a week. I know, I know, we’re supposed to do more than that. But one thing I learnt about working out is that I can’t set a bar too high for myself. I’ve often told myself – five times a week or bust! And soon enough, I fail to meet the mark and I give up. So, for now, three times a week!

Twice – at the office gym
Once – at my fancy gym (most probably Saturday or Sunday)

Categories: Thoughts & such
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

